Campus Safety team, Rep. Bonner to receive awards

Grove City College’s 2022 Florence E. MacKenzie Campus-Community Awards winners are, respectively, the College’s Campus Safety team and local lawmaker and long-time attorney Timothy Bonner.

The awards are presented each year to recognize those who work to bring the College and the community around it together in meaningful, beneficial ways and strengthen a town-gown relationship that goes back to the College’s founding as a community endeavor in 1876.

“We are grateful for the opportunity to recognize these individuals who represent our commitment as a College to fostering a true community with the town of Grove City,” Melissa (Trifaro ’96) MacLeod, senior director of Alumni and College Relations, said.

This year’s Campus Award is going to Grove City College Campus Safety for their tireless dedication to serving and protecting the community. The 15 men and women who make up the campus safety team have a combined 141 years of public safety, fire, EMS, and law enforcement experience. They often serve as a bridge between local public service, police and fire departments, and the College, routinely report and assist with accidents and incidents near campus, and, in a recent instance, assisted in putting out a house fire near campus. Campus Safety personnel are also regular partners with student groups on fundraisers and clothing and food drives that benefit the community.

“The officers are in this field because they truly want to help others and do the best they can do for their fellow man. There are many times that they follow up while off-duty to see how someone made out on a call that they handled or to follow-up on an incident that occurred the night before. These are duties they are not required to do as part of their job, but they truly care for the community,” one nominator said.

The College’s Campus Safety team consists of: Corporals Glen Grube, Jake Moore, and Todd Yeager; Officers Jim Dickson, Garrett Miller, Steve Dunkerley, Clint Coyer, Matt McFeely, Robert King, Drew Cramer, Tom Sherman, and Logan Aydelott; Office Manager: Bonnie Burchfield; Assistant Director Kent McFadden; and Director Seth Van Til.

The Community Award goes to 17th District Pennsylvania Rep. Timothy Bonner, a Grove City attorney who has served the College as a solicitor, teacher, and friend for over 30 years. He’s provided legal advice to the College’s Board of Trustees, several presidents, and others on campus to ensure the College maintained its mission, vision, and values. Until recently, he taught a popular one-credit course titled “Know Your Rights.”

His role as a community leader has been even more impactful than his service to the College. He’s worked with nearly every civic and business organization in the greater Grove City Community, from Little League to the United Way. He’s also served as president of the Mercer County Bar Association and as elder at East Main Presbyterian Church.

Bonner’s work on the merger of Grove City Medical Center and Allegheny Health Network was specifically cited in his nomination. The merger benefitted the College and the community by keeping the hospital open, investing in the facility, and creating ongoing opportunities for the College to partner with the health care giant. “Without Tim’s leadership, none of this would have been possible.”

The Campus Award recognizes members of the faculty, staff, administration, or student body, including student organizations. The Community Award recognizes an individual, group, or organization from the greater Grove City Borough area. Nominees for both awards must have met the criteria through volunteer effort, not through aspects of employment or other requirements that force interaction.

The awards are named for Florence E. MacKenzie, wife of former Grove City College President Dr. Charles S. MacKenzie. Her efforts and involvement included serving as president of Grove City Woman’s Club, the Women’s Bowling League, secretary of the local United Way and president of the Grove City Hospital Board of Trustees, today known as AHN Grove City. The awards have been presented since 1983.

A ceremony and reception for the award winners is set for 5:30 p.m. on Feb. 24 in Carnegie Alumni Center on campus.

Campus Safety team, Rep. Bonner to receive awards

Return to Archive